CCAD Packard Library: How to Research an Artist: Images

JSTOR Images

When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find over 3.2+ million images licensed for educational use and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles.

They have also made it easy to organize and annotate the content you find on JSTOR, and export, present, or share it from there.

Registration

If you already have a JSTOR, you're set! If not, registration allows you to save and download images and articles.

Go to jstor.org (you must register while on-campus)
On the upper right hand side of the screen, click on the Register link.
Log in with Google (your CCAD email is a Google email address) or enter the required basic registration information - an email address and a 6 character password.
After clicking Submit, you'll receive a confirmation message by email.

With your email address and password registered, you can log in to JSTOR from any computer on or off-campus.

Image Collections

Artsy
Artsy features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. Their growing database of 300,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 40,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA is a discovery tool, or union catalog, for public domain content held by the nation's archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Europeana
Provides links to over 6 million digital items from major libraries, archives, and museums around Europe.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum of Art
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Includes maps, time lines, thematic essays, and an index.
NYPL Digital Gallery | Home
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Rhizome
Rhizome is dedicated to the creation, presentation, preservation, and critique of emerging artistic practices that engage technology.
VADS : the Online Resource for the Visual Arts
Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images from the UK.
Vogue Archive
All issues of American Vogue from 1892 to the present.

Images in Specific Museums & Libraries

For more image resources, check the LibGuide for specific locations or periods.

Music & Sounds

Streaming Video

Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with more than 8,000 films from a variety of important collections *Please note that we pay a fee for every video watched.

Kanopy

CCAD students, faculty, and staff can watch a variety of films in all genres, including titles from the Criterion Collection, documentaries, World Cinema, and experimental films.

Go to ccad.kanopy.com and click on LOG IN TO CCAD

Click on FIND YOUR UNIVERSITY

Find Columbus College of Art & Design in the drop-down menu

You will need to create an account to save titles to a watchlist. Always use the ccad.kanopy.com link as it's tied to our account.

Library & Information Technology

How to Research an Artist