To direct your students to a specific article, ebook or database, create your links using the following directions:
Definitions:
A persistent link (also called a persistent URL) is a URL that links directly to an article in a database, bypassing the need to search the database to find it again. If you want to direct your students to a specific article in a CCAD Library database, you can include a persistent link as a resource in CCAD Moodle .
A proxy prefix is a string of text that must be added to the beginning of a database’s persistent URL in order to permit access to the article from off-campus. It redirects a URL to an authentication page where off-campus users enter their valid CCAD library login user name and ID number to gain access to the database. If a database’s persistent link does not already include a proxy prefix, you must add the default CCAD Library proxy prefix,
https://cc.opal-libraries.org/login?url=
Inserting a persistent link in your CCAD Moodle assignment
- Type the article title in the CCAD Moodle assignment window
- Select the text you just typed and click the Hyperlink button in the toolbar
- Compose and enter the persistent link for an article using the steps listed below (see “Composing a persistent link”) for the appropriate database
- Click the Submit button to save the hyperlink and close the Hyperlink window
Composing a persistent link
CCAD Library Catalog
- Click on the title of the item to open the record. In the lower left, under the book location, is the Permanent Link. Click on this and copy the URL.
Academic Search Complete, Art & Architecture Source, and other EBSCO Databases
- Search for an article and then click on an article title to view the full citation
- Find the Permalink in the right hand column
- Select the full URL and copy it to your clipboard (use Ctrl-C or Cmd-C on a Mac)
JSTOR
- Search for an article and then click on an article title to view the full citation
- The Stable URL is located at the top with the publication information
- Select the full URL and copy it to your clipboard (use Ctrl-C or Cmd-C on a Mac)
Please contact the library for additional help.
