CCAD Packard Library: Using Primary Sources: Fashion

Fashion & Textile Images Online

Bata Shoe Museum
A charming shoe museum in Canada with some excellent photos and historical notes.
Costume Institute, Metropolitan Museum of Art
Over 30,000 images.
Europeana Fashion
Provides online access to more than 700,000 costume-and fashion-related objects from the collections of 19 leading European museums and private archives.
Fashion and Costume History Links
From Kent State University.
Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection
Images of historic textiles and related objects spanning a broad spectrum of times, places, and techniques from archeological material (primarily Peruvian and Coptic) through contemporary fiber art.
London College of Fashion Digital Collection: Paper Patterns
The London College of Fashion's Paper Patterns collection has accumulated over the years until it numbers some 800 dating from the 1920s to the present day.
Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology
The Museum’s permanent collection encompasses 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present. Important designers such as Adrian, Balenciaga, Chanel, and Dior are represented.
NYPL Digital Fashion Resources
OSU Historic Costume and Textile Collections
VADS: the Online Resource for the Visual Arts
A portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images, including fashion and textiles.
Victoria and Albert Museum, Fashion, Jewellery & Accessories Collections
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.
Zandra Rhodes Digital Study Collection
Explore a selection of 500 of couture dresses and garments from the 1960s to the present day, drawings, learn about the inspiration behind her iconic pieces, and see the design and production techniques that are used to make handcrafted couture in her studio in London.

Vogue Archive

Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.

CCAD Historic Art Book Collection

Der Bazar: illustrirte Damen-Zeitung Berlin, [Bazaar : illustrated women's magazine, Berlin], 1870

Costume of China, 1805

Costume of Great Britain, 1804

Costume of Hindostan : elucidated by sixty coloured engravings, 1804

Le Costume Historique, [Historic costume], A. Racinet (6 vols.), 1888

Costume of the hereditary states of the House of Austria, displayed in fifty coloured engravings, 1804

Costume of the Russian Empire : illustrated by a series of seventy-three engravings : with descriptions in English and French, 1803

Costume of Turkey : illustrated by a series of engravings; with descriptions in English and French, 1804

Fancy Dresses Described, Or What to Wear at Fancy Balls, 1887

The Follies and Fashions of Our Grandfathers, 1886

French theatrical costumes, n.d. (19th century)

Military costume of Turkey : illustrated by a series of engravings, from drawings made on the spot, 1818

Modern Design in Jewelry and Fans, 1902

Peterson's Magazine, 1850-1896 (an American women's magazine with fashion plates, some in color)

Seconde suite d'estampes, pour servir à l'histoire des modes, et du costume en France, dans le dix-huitième siècle, année 1776. Paris, Imprimerie de Prault, 1777 [Second series of prints, to show the history of fashion, and costume in France, in the eighteenth century, year 1776] (reprint 1919)

Suite d'estampes, pour servir à l'histoire des moeurs et du costume des François, dans le dix-huitième siècle : Année 1774 [Suite of prints, to show the history of the manners and the costume of the French, in the eighteenth century, year 1774]

Digitized Historic Fashion & Women's Magazines

Australian Women's Weekly
Assorted issues from a well-known Australian women's magazine (1933-1968).
French Vogue (1920-1940)
Godey's Lady's Book
19th century (1830-1898) women's magazine, including fashion plates.
Harper's Bazaar, 1867-1900
Pratt Libraries Fashion Plate Collection
The Fashion Plate Collection consists of hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton (considered the most influential fashion magazine during its existence from 1912 to 1925) and its American edition, La Gazette du Bon Genre.