CCAD Packard Library: Game Art & Design: Media

Still images

Bodies in Motion
Contains high-resolution images of athletes and dancers in motion to help art students deepen their understanding of form, function and anatomy of the figure
Calisphere
University of California's free public gateway to more than 200,000 digitized items including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts.
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA is a discovery tool for public domain content held by the nation's archives, libraries, & museums.
Europeana
Provides links to over 6 million digital items from major libraries, archives, and museums around Europe. Users can sign up for a My Europeana account to save searches and bookmark records.
NYPL Digital Gallery | Home
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Wikimedia Commons
A database of over 25 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

APM Music This link opens in a new window
Downloadable music and sound effects. To download materials, users must register for an account using their CCAD email address at www.apmmusic.com/user/register. The account registration will then be approved by APM staff. Any faculty, staff, or students experiencing issues with registration approval can email the APM representative directly at mgoodin@apmmusic.com or contact library staff.

NASA on SoundCloud
Need the sound of a rocket taking off? How about the sound of Sputnik orbiting the earth? Want a recording of Neil Armstrong's famous Moon landing comments? Get them from the source - NASA!
FreeSound
Free sound files.
Wilhelm Scream Sample
You can't make a movie without a Wilhelm Scream! The Wilhelm scream is a stock sound effect first used in 1951 for the film Distant Drums.
more...less...
Actor-singer Sheb Wooley is considered to be the most likely voice actor for the scream, having appeared on a memo as a voice extra for the film. In "The Charge at Feather River" (1953), the scream is heard when a soldier named Pvt. Wilhelm (played by Ralph Brooke) gets shot in the leg by an arrow. (Source: Wikipedia/Hollywood Lost and Found)

FutureTools
"FutureTools Collects & Organizes All The Best AI Tools So YOU Too Can Become Superhuman!"
FlowLab
Offers a free version, no downloads required. Design a game with a visual logic builder instead of complex programming.Excellent for students designing games. Features a teacher dashboard.
Tabletopia.com
Offers a free version with a nice suite of features. Focused on designing digital board games. Provides game boards, dice, tiles, cards, meeples, and blocks you can customize.
Tabletop Simulator
More powerful than Tabletopia but charges a low fee. Focused on designing digital board games. Includes virtual reality options.