CCAD Packard Library: Ancient Art & Archaeology: Images

JSTOR Images

When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find over 3.2+ million images licensed for educational use and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles.

They have also made it easy to organize and annotate the content you find on JSTOR, and export, present, or share it from there.

Registration

If you already have a JSTOR, you're set! If not, registration allows you to save and download images and articles.

Go to jstor.org (you must register while on-campus)
On the upper right hand side of the screen, click on the Register link.
Log in with Google (your CCAD email is a Google email address) or enter the required basic registration information - an email address and a 6 character password.
After clicking Submit, you'll receive a confirmation message by email.

With your email address and password registered, you can log in to JSTOR from any computer on or off-campus.

Find images

Art Institute of Chicago Digital Collection
High-resolution images of art from the famed museum.
British Library Online Gallery
This online gallery contains over 30,000 images from the British Library's collection.
Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
The antique Greek and Roman monuments known in the Renaissance are indexed with related Renaissance documents (texts and images), and information about locations, persons, & periods.
Cities and Buildings Database (University of Washington)
Cleveland Museum of Art Open Access Images
30,000 high-res images of public-domain artworks in the CMA collection, plus metadata relevant to more than 61,000 works are available without restriction, whether the works themselves are in the public domain or under copyright.
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA is a discovery tool, or union catalog, for public domain content held by the nation's archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Europeana
Provides links to over 6 million digital items from major libraries, archives, and museums around Europe. Users can sign up for a My Europeana account to save searches and bookmark records.
Flickr Commons
Shares hidden treasures from the world's public digital archives.
Images of Rome : The Rodolfo Lanciani Digital Archive
Virtual access to a premier collection of historic depictions amassed by Rodolfo Lanciani (1845–1929). Lanciani was a pioneer in the systematic, modern study of the city of Rome.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Art images from the collections of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Paris Musées
A collection of 14 museums in Paris have made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public.

Museums

There are numerous museums around the world with collections of ancient art. Below are several with major collections.

Acropolis Museum, Athens, Greece

Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, Oxford, UK

National Archeological Museum, Greece

Beazley Archive - Classical Art Research Centre at the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford University

British Museum, London - Includes the sculptures from the Parthenon

Foundation of the Hellenic World

Getty Villa, Malibu, CA

Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg

Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna

The Louvre, Paris

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napoli, Naples, Italy - Major repository for artifacts from Pompeii and Herculaneum.

Museum of Cycladic Art, Athens

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

National Museum of Asian Art, Washington, DC

Pergamonmuseum, Berlin - Contains the Pergamon Altar relocated from Turkey, as well as the Antikensammlung (Collection of Classical Antiquities) of the Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin

Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts, Moscow

Vatican Museums, Rome

Wikipedia List of Museums with Large Collections of Egyptian Antiquities