CCAD Packard Library: Architectural History: Websites

Websites

ArchDaily
News, history and products for architects and interior designers.
Architects Web Sites
From the Art Institute of Chicago Collections.
Central Ohio Building Index
The Central Ohio Buildings Index contains abstracts of articles about historic buildings in Columbus from local newspapers, books in the Ohio Collection at Columbus Metropolitan Library, and the Circulating Visuals collection of the Columbus Metropolitan Library which is now part of the Columbus in Historic Photographs collection.
Columbus Architectural Salvage
Recycled vintage house parts
Columbus Landmarks Foundation
Advocates for, promotes and preserves Columbus landmarks and neighborhoods
Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
International Archive of Women in Architecture
A joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech.
Mies in Berlin/Mies in America
An exhibition that ran concurrently at the MoMA and The Whitney Museum which explores the entirety of the architect Mies Van Der Rohe's work.
National Register of Historic Places
The official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation.
Real Virtual: History of Architecture
A digital project from Columbia University that covers the history of architecture from ancient times to the present.
Researching Houses in Columbus, Ohio
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places.
WikiArquitectura
A large international online architecture encyclopedia.
US Modernist
An educational archive for the documentation, preservation, and promotion of residential Modernist architecture. With four major sections, USModernist is America's largest open digital archive of Modernist houses and their architects.

Road Trip!

Notable architecture within driving distance of Columbus - with food recommendations!

Home Building Association Bank, Newark, OH

One of Louis Sullivan's jewel box bank buildings. Unfortunately, it has had major renovations, but some of the detail can still be seen. Need a snack? Try the Red Oak Pub.

People's Savings and Loan Association, Sidney, OH

Another gorgeous example of a Louis Sullivan jewel box bank building (more pix here). It's still in use as a bank, and the original architecture is pretty much untouched. Bonus! Across the street is The Spot, a classic 1950's diner.

Westcott House, Springfield, OH

The Westcott House was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in 1906 and built in 1908. Tours available. Excellent donuts available at Schuler's Bakery.

Union Terminal, Cincinnati, OH

An incredible Art Deco train station, now housing two museums and the Cincinnati Historical Society. Actually, you can't swing a cat in Cincinnati without hitting an amazing building. For lunch, we recommend Melt Revival in Northside.

And then there's Cleveland. Too many to list. Lots of food, too.