CCAD Packard Library: Narrative Practice: Graphic Novels, Comics, and Zines: Websites

Comics Blogs

The Beat: the daily news blog of comics news, reviews, and information
CBR
The Columbus Scribbler About comics in Columbus!
The Comics Reporter
Tom Spurgeon's Web site of comics news, reviews, interviews and commentary. Sadly, Tom died in November 2019, so the future of the site is uncertain. You can still search and view for the time being.
ComicsResearch.org
ComicsResearch.org is an older site covering book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research. Last published in 2010.
Comics Forum
Comics Forum aims to increase the visibility and accessibility of comics scholarship through an academic conference that brings together scholars, artists and fans in a spirit of mutual cooperation and development.
ComiXology
Online site highlighting new releases. Allows for the purchase of digital comics, but also includes blogs, podcasts and other resources.
Comics Worth Reading
Independent Opinions by Johanna Draper Carlson and friends. News and reviews of graphic novels, manga, comic books, and related subjects.
The Comics Alternative Podcast
The Comics Alternative is a weekly podcast focused on the world of alternative, independent, and primarily non-superhero comics.

History of Comics & Graphic Novels

Andy's Early Comics Index
Survey focusing on pre-20th century comics.
Comic Book Plus
Read and download Golden and Silver Age comic books plus a large selection of comic strips and pulp fiction.
Comic Books & Graphic Novels Collection at The Internet Archive
This large database provides access to manga, comic books and books on technique. The non-profit organization Internet Archive is dedicated to preserving valuable texts, files, and websites for future research.
Comiclopedia
An illustrated compendium of over 11,000 comic artists from around the world.
Digital Comic Museum
Contains free downloadable versions of public domain comics from the Golden Age.
The Global Webcomics Web Archive
Aims to preserve selected webcomics and creator websites from all over the world in order to assure the continuing availability of these important, and potentially ephemeral, documents for use by researchers and scholars.
Grand Comics Database
Largest databases of comic books on the Internet, the Grand Comics Database indexes over a million issues from around the world.
Library of Congress Webcomics Web Archive
The Library of Congress maintains an extensive archive of Webcomics. The archive is searchable by contributor, subject, and location.
The Opper Project: Historic Editorial Cartoons
The Opper Project, named after Ohioan Frederick Burr Opper, the first great American-born cartoonist, is an on-line collection of historic editorial cartoons from collection of The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum at Ohio State University. Covering more than one hundred years of American history, the cartoons are organized topically with associated lesson plans.
The Pulp Magazine Archive
Large repository of pulp magazines maintained by The Internet Archive.
The Pulp Magazines Project
An open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study of pulp magazines. Contains high-quality, cover-to-cover digital facsimiles.
Toonopedia
"The world's first hypertext encyclopedia of 'toons" Outdated layout but the information is excellent.

Comics & Zine Festivals

Angouleme International Comics Festival
The largest annual comics festival in Europe.
CAKE Chicago
Chicago Alternative Comics Expo (CAKE)
Cartoon Crossroads Columbus (CXC)
Our local comics festival!
Genghis Con
A small press and comics expo in Cleveland, OH.
Small Press Expo (SPX)
North America’s premiere independent cartooning and comic arts festival.
SPACE (Small Press & Alternative Comics Expo)
Also in Columbus!
Zinecinnati
A Cincinnati festival for zinesters, alt comix creators, poets, self-publishers, and book/paper artists.

Awards

Eisner Awards
Graphic Novels
Harvey Awards
Ignatz Award
Graphic Novels
Kodansha Awards (List of winners)
Manga
Shogakukan Awards (List of winners)
Manga

Some Popular Publishers

Top Shelf Productions