The CCAD Historic Art Book Collection is a teaching collection.
Students, faculty, and the public can make appointments to visit the collection, handle the items, and gain inspiration for their own creative projects.
Appointments:
Viewing Special Collections materials is by appointment only. Contact Christine Mannix (cmannix@ccad.edu).
What You Need to Bring:
CCAD students, staff, & faculty: Bring your CCAD ID card. If your item has a barcode we will "check out" the item. If it doesn't have a barcode, we will hold your ID. For security purposes, we request that you sit at the table inside the circulation desk. One book may be viewed at a time unless special permission is given to view multiple books.
Other Researchers: You must show a photo I.D. such as a driver's license, a passport, a University or employer's identification card. On the first use of the Historic Art Books Collection, you must complete a registration form. The information given will be reviewed by library staff from time to time and updates may be requested. For security purposes, we request that you sit at the table across from the circulation desk. One book may be viewed at a time unless special permission is given to view multiple books.
Researchers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent or a responsible adult. Children under the age of 10 are not permitted to use the materials.
All items are non-circulating and must remain in the CCAD Packard Library. Each item must be returned to the staff person on duty before leaving.
Please wash your hands before handling items. Please do not use moisturizer. Depending on the condition of the materials, you may be asked to wear nitrile gloves.
Do not eat or drink (including water) while using items.
Book rests may be provided to alleviate stress to book spines. Please use them.
Use pencil and paper to take notes. We can provide a pencil if you need one. Please do not to write on, tear, fold, and/or trace documents. Tracing may cause damaging indentations.
Use plain paper for bookmarks. Paper clips, fasteners, tape, "post-it" notes or rubber bands can leave lasting marks or residue on materials.
To turn a page of a book, lift the top outer corner and lightly slip the fingertips down the fore-edge, supporting the page. Do not attempt to turn a page while holding something else. If the paper is browning or very thin or shows signs of flaking, handle with extreme care.
Keep loose pages, such as those in portfolios, in the order you received them.
Do not attempt to repair material yourself. If there is damage, let one of the library staff know.
Please discuss your photocopying or scanning needs with library staff; rare and fragile materials often require special consideration when reproducing.
You may use cameras to reproduce images. Do not use flash unless absolutely necessary. The light can damage the books and disturb fellow library users.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of reproductions of copyrighted material. The researcher is responsible for any infringement. Images in the public domain (pre-1926) may be freely reproduced.
The majority of our books are now cataloged! But if you need an overview by subject, the inventory can be a valuable tool.
There are four different sheets in the spreadsheet: the Historic Art Book Collection, the Artists' Book Collection, the Beeler Gallery Donation, and the Comics and Narrative Practice Collection. You should be able to sort by column.
To find items in the Historic Art Books Collection that have been cataloged, go to this link and type Q.
https://cat.opal-libraries.org/search/m
For information on uncataloged items, please see the inventory in the box above.