A project of The Biomimicry Institute. The website was recommended by visiting artist Carl Hastrich.

A community workshop in Columbus, OH. Monthly memberships are available for use of tools (woodworking, metalworking, welding, plasma cutting, and CNC), as well as a computer lab.

Explains the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery.

This site has articles concerning engineering, manufacturing processes, modeling and materials.

The leading resource for design materials collections at academic and cultural institutions.

The premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing.

Oldest, largest, member-driven society for product design, industrial design, and related design fields.

Formerly known as the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (Icsid), WDO is an international non-governmental organization that promotes the profession of industrial design.

Cool Hunting is an award-winning publication that uncovers the latest in design, technology, style, travel, art and culture.

Core77 publishes articles, discussion forums, portfolios, job listings, a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services for industrial designers.

An online magazine dedicated to modern design, Design Milk offers what’s new in art, architecture, interior design, furniture and decor, fashion and technology.

The online presence of Dezeen, an architecture, interiors and design magazine based in London.

Inhabitat.com is a weblog devoted to the future of design, tracking the innovations in technology, practices and materials that are pushing architecture and home design towards a smarter and more sustainable future.

RecycleNation is a dynamic recycling and green living-focused website that makes recycling, conserving, reusing and living wisely easy.

Urban planning site.

A leading media outlet dedicated to driving sustainability mainstream.

The Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum collects documents relating to the activities of the Bauhaus, including photographs, books, designs, models and artistic works.

You can search images of their entire collection, even by color!

Design from Denmark.

Information on designers and architects.

Presents the design contributions of women from around the world. Works date from 1900 to the present and are drawn from the Stewart Collection a the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

American design museum in Detroit, Michigan.

Swiss design museum.

The collection consists of 9000 items from the middle of the 19th century to the present day, complemented by the loan of the Plastics Historical Society Collection.

French decorative arts and design.

Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images, including fashion and textiles.

The world's greatest museum of art and design.

A German design museum that contains estates of several important figures in design history, including Charles & Ray Eames, George Nelson, Verner Panton and Alexander Girard.