An annotated bibliography is a list of resources that you have gathered on a topic that includes an annotation, or notes, following the reference. Like a References list, annotated bibliographies gather all resources discovered in the research process in one document. Each citation in the bibliography is followed by an annotation -- a 5-7 sentence paragraph consisting of a summary, an evaluation, and a reflection on that resource. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
First, locate and record citations to books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. Briefly examine and review what you've found, then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.
Cite the book, article, or document using the citation style that your instructor requests that you use.
Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that (a) evaluate the authority or background of the author, (b) comment on the intended audience, (c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or (d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic. Annotated Bibliographies often include personal reactions and opinions and may use 1st person (I/me).
For guidance in critically appraising and analyzing the sources for your bibliography, see How to Critically Analyze Information Sources.
(adapted from https://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography)
Literature Review
The purpose of a literature review is to provide an overview of existing academic literature on a specific topic and an evaluation of the strengths and weaknesses of the author’s arguments. You are summarizing what research is available on a certain topic and then drawing conclusions about the topic. To make gathering your research easier, be sure to start with a narrow/specific topic and then widen your topic if necessary.
A literature review is helpful when determining what research has already been discovered through academic research and what further research still needs to be done. Are there gaps? Are there opportunities for further research? What is missing from my collection of resources? Are more resources needed?
Literature reviews do not provide personal arguments or opinions and are written in 3rd person.
It is important to note that the conclusions described in the literature you gather may contradict each other completely or in part. A literature review gives the researcher an overview and understanding of various strands of thought on a particular topic or issue.
(adapted from https://rasmussen.libanswers.com/faq/43033)