Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Styles: Citation Tools

Database-Provided Citations

Many of the Library's subscription databases auto-generate citations for articles and e-books.  Some allow you to copy, email citations, or export citations to citation managers like Zotero.

Students should always double check auto-generated citations for correctness and that are in the citation format assigned by your instructor.

Free Online Citation Generators

Not all citation builders are always correct.  Some are slow to adopt changes from style guide updates, may have a programming error, or may include entries that are mistyped.  Students should always double check auto-generated citations for correctness and that are in the citation format assigned by your instructor.

Need to organize your research? Try Zotero.

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a free citation management software that allows you to organize, store, and retrieve information, such as citations for books, articles, and Web sites. You can import records and PDFs from databases. You can add abstracts, keywords and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of your project. Zotero works with word-processing software like Word and Google Docs to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations into a paper and create a bibliography.

What it won't do:

It will not always create a perfect bibliography or reference list according to your favorite style. For example, you will still have to understand APA, MLA, or Chicago/Turabian and check over your results. It will not correct errors or omissions that were in the database from which you retrieved references. It will not always know what type of material you are putting into it from a database.

If you think that Zotero is for you, Carleton College has a great guide to installing and using Zotero: 

https://gouldguides.carleton.edu/c.php?g=146876&p=964895

*Note* Unlike Carleton, you won't get unlimited storage with Zotero when you use your CCAD email, but you will still have plenty of storage!