The directory contains hundreds of quality controlled scholarly electronic journals that are freely available on the web.

An online journal for fashion scholarship and criticism. Founded in 2012 by students in the MA Fashion Studies program at Parsons School of Design, New York.

Commercial sewing patterns from the US, Canada, and the UK from 1847 to present. The site is free, but you need to register.

An organization for fashion history scholars.

Amplifies BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) fashion scholarship, illuminate under-examined histories and address racism throughout the fashion system.

An open-source research platform for the Ruth Finley Collection at the Fashion Institute of Technology.

From FIT: Hundreds of essays on specific artworks, garments, and films, the Fashion History Timeline equips students and researchers with essential facts, vocabulary, models of analysis, and links to digitized primary & secondary sources

A Dutch center for the study of textiles, clothing and accessories.

Free knitting patterns from the 1930's to the 1970's.

A library of free vintage knitting, crochet and sewing patterns scattered across the web.

Documents vintage sewing patterns (25 years or older) with links to pattern sellers.

High-resolution images of art from the famed museum.

A charming shoe museum in Canada with some excellent photos and historical notes.

An archive of rare books, magazines, fashion plates, etc. from the 16th century to the 19th century. Based in Japan but coverage is worldwide.

You can search images of their entire collection, even by color!

Over 30,000 images.

Links to costume-and fashion-related objects from the collections of leading European museums and private archives.

A Canadian fashion history museum.

The digital collections of the FIT Library's Special Collections and College Archives

Images of historic textiles and related objects spanning a broad spectrum of times, places, and techniques from archaeological material to contemporary fiber art.

Images include textiles, costumes and ephemera from Rhode Island and all over the world, spanning in time from ancient Egyptian cloth to garments by 20th century designers.

Historic designs from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Some 800 patterns dating from the 1920s to the present day.

Over 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.

Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images, including fashion and textiles.

The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.

Google has partnered with 180 institutions, schools and archives around the world for this online project focusing on the history of fashion.

Explore her couture dresses and garments, drawings, and techniques from the 1960s to the present day,

A blog about historical costuming. They also sell shoes.

With over 7 billion people in the world, we all have one thing in common. Every day we all get dressed. Join this podcast as they explore the social and cultural histories behind the who, what, when of why we wear.

A personal blog by a fan and student of fashion and costume history.

Videos on designers and clothing from Ohio State's Historic Costume and Textiles Collection.

Check out the fashion collection at the Kent State University Museum!

The Metropolitan Museum of Art has a YouTube channel with videos on exhibitions and items from their Costume Institute.

Of course the Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology has a channel!

A fashion historian takes you on a time traveling journey through historic tailoring, shoemaking, and dressmaking techniques.

Created and narrated by the late Amanda Hallay, a college professor who specialized in fashion, costume, and cultural history.